Honorary President, Mrs. Julia Ashley Pierce, Rochester Pres Second Vice President, Dr. Grace W. Sherwood, St. Albans

President, Dr. Marion R. Horton, Windsor

Korton, Windsor First Vice President, Mrs. E. H. Read, Burlington Third Vice President, Mrs. William L. Bryant, Springfield

Treasurer, Mrs. Lou Kinsley Thomas, Richford Auditor, Mrs. John Spargo, Bennington

Fourth Vice President, Mrs. Charles L. Stuart, Lyndonville Recording Secretary, Mrs. James A. Merrill, Rutland Press Chairman, Miss Winifred Carling, Burlington

VERMONT EQUAL SUFFRAGE ASSOCIATION

OFFICE OF CHAIRMAN OF RATIFICATION MRS. LILIAN H. OLZENDAM WOODSTOCK VERMONT

October 23,1919.

Mr. In Belkuap

Dear Sir:

As you have not responded to our appeal for your signature on petition to Governor Clement for special session, and as it is quite impossible for me to call personally upon the 275 men in the legislature in the short time at my disposal, I am writing this to ask that you send me same this week.

We already have a fine number of names in both Houses but would like to give all our friends a chance to be represented when Senator Howland and his Committee calls on the Governor and presents the petition.

Vermont is needed for the 36th. State in order that ratification may be complete before Presidential Primaries, and we are relying on your support. With thanks for former favors,

Very truly yours,

Chairman of Ratification for Vermont.

Dear madam I think it is surfishant for me to say that I am not in Favor of calling a Special session of Legislature yours most Respectfully

Ira A. Belknap Covendish germont